More like Isla De Clouds

Calm before the storm. Mini-island snapped from the boat on the way to the big island.

EARLIER this month I stopped by tranquil Lake Titicaca for a couple of days to shake off the grime and debauchery of my week in La Paz. Straddling Bolivia and Peru, it is considered the largest high-altitude lake in the world covering a whopping 8400 sq km. After dropping my bags off at a cheap hotel in Copacabana (Bolivian side) I jumped on a boat to Isla De Sol (Island of the Sun), which is the birthplace of the sun god in Inca mythology. Our boat was pelted by rain and hail during the boat ride and I was struck down by the first cold/flu thing I’ve had in years the night before but the sun eventually came up trumps and kicked the shit out of the seemingly dark omens. Though a lady I bought a water from on the island did tell me with great conviction, the world was going to end next year with Australia the first to go. “Mucho muerte,” she said (heaps of deaths!)

The 'beach' out the front of the hostel I stayed at during my only night on the island. it had no electricity, there was no railing on the second floor balcony outside my room and sticking out of the concrete floor at the foot of my door was a huge metal rod. Classic trip hazard to neck breaker.

Doggy.

Inca ceremonial table.

Chincana ruins, north shore. One of the 180 or so ruins on the island if you'll believe Wikipedia (circa 15th century AD).

Recommended by Lonely Planet's 1847 edition.

There are no paved roads on the island, no cars. About 800 families live there. Takes about 3 hours to walk from north to south.

Eeyore and co.

The sun makes an appearance.

More ruins and shit.

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “More like Isla De Clouds

  1. Pingback: Isn’t it iconic? | fearinenglish

Leave a Reply

